Case Study


一座渾然天成的港都城市:高雄

高雄位於臺灣西南部的都市,是臺灣人口第三多的城市。高雄自19世紀末開港,舊稱『打狗』,日治時代發展為港埠城市與軍事要地,有「港都」之稱,並在20世紀中葉後成為臺灣南部政治、經濟及交通中樞,發展成為高雄都會區。
INDIGO在台灣的第一家酒店HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG就坐落在高雄由美國旅遊網站「BootsnAll」於2012年初評選全世界最美麗的15座捷運站排名第四名的中央公園站旁,全球最美麗的捷運站與充滿港都文化的現代設計精品酒店成就了高雄獨一無二的美景。
作為台灣第一間五星精品英迪格連鎖酒店,要充分表現高雄的鄰里故事那港都文化自然是不可或缺的靈魂,在商業貿易的蓬勃發展起飛的年代,高雄大船入港乘載了一貨櫃又一貨櫃西方的舶來品,為台灣的傳統文化注入了西方流行文化的養分。因此,以大船入港帶進來的『舶來品』為高雄的主題,回頭看整個高雄文化的演繹進程,進入HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG濃濃的海港元素以現代手法完美的呈現加上巧妙的故事動線佈局,再經由酒店的建築與室內設計團隊,用充滿藝術與現代設計交融的風格,轉化為高雄英迪格酒店獨特的設計語言。

豐富的文化內涵與面貌尚需被精準提煉找到 INDIGO KAOHSIUNG 與眾不同的 DNA

高雄是台灣發展進程中最重要的城市之一,也是台灣重工業的重鎮,本身就有許許多多的豐富文化內涵,早期原住民文化、漁場文化、鄭成功開發時期、日治時期的現代化到現在,如何在眾多的豐富文化中去探索能夠詮釋高雄的鄰里文化的主軸,是一項極具挑戰的工作。

Research & Analysis


Storyline Development
History And Geography Research
Culture study
Brand Attribute / Culture Development
Brand Storyline Core Value Development
Develop Brand storyline tag line

Industry Study
Competitor Analysis
Global & Local Market Evaluation
Opportunity Analysis
Market Research

Strategy & Concept


Story Board Development
Story Concept And Manifesto
Brand Culture And Value Appreciation
Onto Imagery And Design

Story Touchpoints
Brand Storyline Core Value Development

Brand Expression & Imagery Development
Create Brand Expression
Visual Expression Imagery Development
Expression Imagery Extension Concepts

Design Direction


Design Elements
Brand Book
Brand Image Development
Story Copywriting

Brand Extension Design
Key Visual Design
Conceptual Development
Collateral Design

聚焦溝通核心優勢

VOCUIS檢視了高雄本身的優勢與價值,豐富的在地台灣味與多元風俗民情都是吸引著旅客前往探索高雄之美。高雄本身國內的酒店競爭不小,卻還未有國際級連鎖酒店進駐,這也是HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG開拓市場很好的時間點。
 
VOCUIS為HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG整體的品牌發展做了深入的分析與探索,必須建立起差異化且鮮明的獨特性,從閱讀大量的歷史資料、在地的訪視與生活體驗去挖掘高雄的與眾不同及獨有的鄰里文化,由此發展出屬於高雄英迪格的品牌故事與主題軸線,並賦予各個不同的酒店空間的設計元素與形象視覺的呈現。
找出高雄INDIGO不凡之處

VOCUIS在執行初期收集各方面的大量資料訊息,將其整理、分類並從中去挖掘顯為人所注意到的枝微末節,並做了許多的在地的訪查與調研,找出了許多有趣的故事以及過往的歷史記憶,把各樣豐富的細節串成了港都文化的一個環節,讓整個主題突然鮮明了起來,從『大船入港』、『報關行』、『舶來品』這三大主軸往下深化出更多豐富的元素,報關戳章、木箱、罐頭、格子、童年零嘴等在地元素,經由巧妙的的故事動線佈局,用充滿藝術與現代設計交融的風格,再由酒店的建築與室內設計團隊,轉化為高雄英迪格酒店獨特的設計語言。
 
經調研發現高雄INDIGO的幾個唯一與第一,1.高雄INDIGO是在地第一家國際級五星連鎖酒店。 2.高雄唯一緊連捷運站出口的國際精品酒店。酒店從古至今都是一個提供旅人休憩的地方,過去的高雄港都迎來了大量的西方文化與舶來品,現在的高雄INDIGO則迎來一波一波的朝聖旅人,城市的變遷、交通模式的改變,不變的是高雄給予每個人不同的魔力,吸引著、期待著一如大船入港前每個人的滿心期待,由古串今巧妙的結合正是INDIGO最用心的玩味,也正是VOCUIS為每一個獨一無二的INDIGO所設計的心血。
高雄酒店的重新權釋與定義

VOCUIS將 ”舶來品” 的主題深化提煉出更多元豐富的元素,這些元素都隱晦地藏在酒店的每一個與客戶的觸點,讓顧客在整個住宿體驗中的每一個流程與環節,都能感受到身在整個故事主題的環節中,不時的都能有驚喜的發現與對細節設計的驚嘆,高雄INDIGO創造出的不只是對每個旅客的無微不至,更是負起高雄酒店第一品牌領導者的重擔而努力。

忠於品牌核心的體驗,展現全面的品牌觀

VOCUIS 最終建議 HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG 採用「舶來品」作為品牌核心概念,成功創造並建立了高雄英迪格酒店 HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG 的主題風格與完整的品牌策略,為來此休憩的旅客,能在酒店的每一處體驗與歷史足跡接軌的高雄之美、大船入港的滂礡氣勢與西方文化帶進的舶來品豐富多元的設計,在每一物每一飾,都有著深刻傳達的記憶點。

打造高雄首家國際精品設計酒店

HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG 的成功,讓 VOCUIS 與 IHG 集團的合作關係更為緊密,共同打造 HOTEL INDIGO 成為大中華地區最受歡迎的酒店品牌之一, VOCUIS 協助更多不同的英迪格酒店建立其品牌溝通的傳達基礎,使入住的每一位旅客能體驗其特殊的品牌精神,藉由我們的品牌觸點,傳播落實在酒店每一個角落。
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 17 2012 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 16 2012 uai

透過長達8個月周密研究分析及數百頁策略建立成功創造並建立了高雄英迪格酒店HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG 的主題風格與完整的品牌策略.

vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 00cover 2012 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 11 2012 1 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 13 2012 1 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 14 2012 1 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 15 2012 1 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 10 2012 1 uai
vocuis indigokaohsiung brand strategy–2292px 16 2012 1 uai

VOCUIS 為每一家 HOTEL INDIGO 酒店創造獨造難忘的旅宿經驗

每一家英迪格酒店都蘊藏著許多的故事。這些故事或發生在酒店的原址上,或發生在周圍的街道中,並且隨著時光的流逝而越珍貴。為了充分展現當地的地域特色,所有英迪格酒店都座落在當地著名的文化區域,在建築風格和內部裝飾上,英迪格酒店獨蘊 匠心地將本地文化融入酒店的設計,構建出令賓客和業主深感著迷的居停空間,因此沒有任何兩家 HOTEL INDIGO 品牌的酒店是相同的,使客人能夠盡情享受高質量的下榻,並且獲得耳目一新的難忘體驗。

作為 IHG INDIGO 酒店的創意設計發展夥伴,VOCUIS 引導其他顧問創意團隊中的每個角色成員,為每一個受委託的 INDIGO 酒店,從故事元素萃取、主題定位到設計概念轉化,建立品牌故事,挖掘出一篇篇精彩美麗的故事篇章,使其入住消費者能體驗其品牌精神,作為酒店空間設計、行銷策略的指導方向。

100

多個國家

4700

多家飯店

1.6

億次入住次數

10

大著名飯店品牌


關於 IHG 洲際酒店集團

IHG 洲際酒店集團在全世界近 100 個國家和地區擁有 4,700 多家酒店,將近 674,000 間客房,是一全球化酒店集團。洲際酒店集團的願景是透過不同區隔的品牌酒店組合與優秀的員工及一流的交付系統來建立「客人摯愛的傑出酒店」,其企業文化的中心是「承諾認真負責地做好每一件事情」。
ihg logos uai

Case Study


A totally natural port city that feels totally natural: Kaohsiung

Kaohsiung, located at southwest of Taiwan, is the third most populous city in Taiwan.Kaohsiung, formerly known as "Dagou city", opened service in the late 19th century, and it was developed into a port city and a military site during the time of Japanese occupation, and was known as "Port City." It became the political, economic and transportation centre of southern Taiwan in the mid-20th century, and was developed into Kaohsiung metropolitan area.

HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG, the first hotel of INDIGO in Taiwan, is next to the Century Park Station in Kaohsiung that was appraised and elected as the fourth among the 15 most beautiful MRT stations in the world by BootsnAll in 2012. The most beautiful MRT station in the world and the boutique hotel with modern design that is full of the port city culture make up the unique scenery in Kaohsiung.

As Taiwan's first five-star boutique Indigo chain hotel, the hotel fully portrays the neighbourhood story in Kaohsiung and the indispensable soul of the port city culture. In the time with booming business trade, Grand Boat entering port in Kaohsiung has carried foreign goods in cabinets one by one, and it has brought into the nutrient of western popular culture into traditional culture of Taiwan. Therefore, according to the theme that Kaohsiung Grand Boat entering port brought in foreign goods, we look back at the evolving process of the entire Kaohsiung culture, and enter the thick seaport elements of HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG. It went through the perfect presentation of contemporary gimmick and the layout of artful stories, and then was designed by architecture and interior design team in the hotel, so it was transformed into the unique design language of Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung.

Rich culture and beautiful outlook to be extracted accurately
Find the different DNA of INDIGO KAOHSIUNG

高雄是台灣發展進程中最重要的城市之一,也是台灣重工業的重鎮,本身就有許許多多的豐富文化內涵,早期原住民文化、漁場文化、鄭成功開發時期、日治時期的現代化到現在,如何在眾多的豐富文化中去探索能夠詮釋高雄的鄰里文化的主軸,是一項極具挑戰的工作。

Research & Analysis


Storyline Development
History And Geography Research
Culture study
Brand Attribute / Culture Development
Brand Storyline Core Value Development
Develop Brand storyline tag line

Industry Study
Competitor Analysis
Global & Local Market Evaluation
Opportunity Analysis
Market Research

Strategy & Concept


Story Board Development
Story Concept And Manifesto
Brand Culture And Value Appreciation
Onto Imagery And Design

Story Touchpoints
Brand Storyline Core Value Development

Brand Expression & Imagery Development
Create Brand Expression
Visual Expression Imagery Development
Expression Imagery Extension Concepts

Design Direction


Design Elements
Brand Book
Brand Image Development
Story Copywriting

Brand Extension Design
Key Visual Design
Conceptual Development
Collateral Design

Focus on the communication core advantage


VOCUIS inspects the strengths and values of Kaohsiung. The rich local Taiwan’s taste and diverse customs attract tourists to explore the beauty of Kaohsiung. The domestic hotel competition of Kaohsiung is fierce, but there is no international-class chain hotel, therefore, it is a good time to open up the market for HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG.

 

VOCUIS has performed deep analysis and exploration for the whole brand development of HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG. As a result, we must establish differentiated and distinctive uniqueness, and excavate unusual and unique neighbourhood culture of Kaohsiung by reading a large amount of historical materials, local visiting and living experience. Thus, VOCUIS developed the brand story and the theme line for Kaohsiung Indigo, and made the design elements and image to realize visual presentation in different hotel spaces.

Digging Outstanding Part of INDIGO KAOHSIUNG


In the early stage of execution, VOCUIS collected a large amount of information from all sides for arrangement and classification, so as to dig out the unnoticed minor details. VOCUIS made a lot of on-site visits and researches to find out a lot of interesting stories and past historical memories. We connected all kinds of rich details to build a segment of Kaohsiung city culture so that the whole theme suddenly became bright. From the three principle axes of "Grand Boat entering port", "customs broker", and "foreign goods", we could deepen more abundant elements such as customs stamps, wooden boxes, cans, lattices, childhood snacks and other local elements. It went through the layout of artful stories with style that was full of art and modern design, and then designed by architecture and interior design team in the hotel, so it was transformed into the unique design language of Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung.

 

According to the investigation, Kaohsiung INDIGO is the only one and first one in several aspects. 1. Kaohsiung INDIGO is the first international five-star chain hotel in Kaohsiung. 2. Kaohsiung INDIGO is the only one international boutique hotel next to the outlet of MRT station. In all ages, hotels have always been acted as a place for visitors to have a rest. In the past, Kaohsiung port introduced plenty of western culture and foreign goods. Now, pilgrimage travellers like an endless stream come to Kaohsiung INDIGO. City and traffic mode have changed, but the charming of Kaohsiung still stays the same, attracting and expecting the longing of people as that they hold before the Grand Boat entering port. Perfect combination of the past and present is the key playfulness of INDIGO, which is also the painstaking effort of VOCUIS to design the unique INDIGO.

Redefining the Hotels in KAOHSIUNG


After further deepening the theme as “foreign goods”, VOCUIS extracted more abundant elements which were implicitly hidden in the points that may be noticed by customers so that in every process and parts of the hotel experience, customers will feel that they live in the story and they will be surprised and impressed by the design details. Kaohsiung INDIGO provides customers with considerate concerns, more importantly, it makes efforts to bear the huge responsibility as the first brand leader.


Loyal to Brand-centred Experience and Presenting Comprehensive Brand Concept

Finally, VOCUIS recommended that HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG adopt “Foreign Goods’ as its core brand concept, and successfully created and built the theme style and complete brand strategy for HOTEL INDIGO KAOHSIUNG, enabling visitors coming for a rest to experience the beautiful historical KAOHSIUNG at every place, rich and diversified design of magnificent Grand Boat entering port and the foreign goods with western culture. Everything here bears profound memory points.


Building HOTEL INDIGO as one of the most popular hotels in KAOSHIUNG

The successful case as HOTEL INDIGO KAOSHIUNG promotes closer cooperation between VOCUIS and IHG. They have successfully built HOTEL INDIGO into one of the most popular hotels in Greater China. VOCUIS has provided support for more different HOTEL INDIGO to build the delivering basis for brand communications to enable every visitor staying here to experience the unique brand spirit which is transformed and presented at every corner through the brand touch points.

透過周密研究分析及數百頁策略建立,成功創造

並建立了每一間英迪格酒店 HOTEL INDIGO

的主題風格與完整的品牌策略.

VOCUIS creates unique and memorable hotel experience
for each HOTEL INDIGO hotel.

Each HOTEL INDIGO has many stories.These stories may happen at the original site of the hotel, or its surrounding streets, and they are fermenting as time goes by, becoming more precious. All HOTEL INDIGO hotels are located at local famous culture regions to fully show the local regional features. As for the building styles and internal decorations, HOTEL INDIGO, with its great originality, is designed and combined with local culture to build such a staying space with which the visitors and owners are so fascinated. Therefore, you will never find exactly the same two HOTEL INDIGO hotels. Staying at HOTEL INDIGO, customers may enjoy high-quality hotel living and gain a new and unforgettable experience.

VOCUIS, as the creative design development partner of IHG INDIGO, leads all members in other consultant creative teams to create brand stories and explore many beautiful stories for every entrusted INDIGO hotel from selection of story elements, theme positioning to conversion of design concepts, enabling visitors to experience its brand spirit and acting as the guidance for hotel space design and marketing strategies.

100

Countries

4700

Hotels

160

Million of Stays

10

Famous Hotel Brands


About IHG

IHG, as a global hotel group, possesses over 4700 hotels spreading in nearly 100 countries all over the world, with 674,000 guest rooms or so. IHG expects to build “Great Hotels Guests Love” by the combination of brand hotels at different regions, outstanding staff and first-class deliverable system. The core of its enterprise culture is “promise to do everything carefully and responsibly”.